Our Top Essential Oils of 2019

Beachwood offers pure plant extracts, unaltered and tested for their purity and therapeutic properties.

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: YES 8/8
Ease of Purchase: YES 6/6
Price Per Bottle: $19.00 3/4
Our Rating:
9.6/10
See Rating Details

Beachwood EssentialsRating Details

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: YES 8/8
Ease of Purchase: YES 6/6
Price Per Bottle: $19.00 3/4

1Price per bottle retrieved from https://www.beachwoodessentials.com/collections/essential-oils/products/bulgarian-lavender-oil. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

Vitality Extracts sells oils, diffusers, and accessories like bracelets with "no membership fees, downlines, or high pressure sales."

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: YES 6/6
Price Per Bottle: $14.95 3/4
Our Rating:
8.2/10
See Rating Details

Vitality ExtractsRating Details

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: YES 6/6
Price Per Bottle: $14.95 3/4

2Price per bottle retrieved from https://www.vitalityextracts.com/collections/single-oils/products/lavender-v. Accessed 8/15/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

#3

doTerra®

doTerra is a multi-level marketing (MLM) essential oil company that has been in business since 2008.

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: NO 2/6
Price Per Bottle: $28.00 2/4
Our Rating:
6.4/10
See Rating Details

doTerraRating Details

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: NO 2/6
Price Per Bottle: $28.00 2/4

3Price per bottle retrieved from https://doterra.com/US/en/p/bergamot-oil. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

Young Living is a Lehi, Utah based company which uses multi-level marketing to sell essential oils and other related products.

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: NO 2/6
Price Per Bottle: $30.92 1/4
Our Rating:
6.1/10
See Rating Details

YoungLivingRating Details

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: PURE 10/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: NO 2/6
Price Per Bottle: $30.92 1/4

4Price per bottle retrieved from https://www.youngliving.com/en_US/products/lavender-essential-oil. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

ArtNaturals is popular on Amazon because the oils are cheap, but we found the sample we tested to be adulterated with several synthetic agents.

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: NOT PURE 0/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: YES 6/6
Price Per Bottle: $4.00 4/4
Our Rating:
5.0/10
See Rating Details

ArtNaturalsRating Details

Metrics1 Our Rating
Purity: NOT PURE 0/10
Origin Disclosure: NO 4/8
Ease of Purchase: YES 6/6
Price Per Bottle: $4.00 4/4

5Price per bottle retrieved from https://artnaturals.com/artnaturals-tangerine-essential-oil-travel-size-relieves-anxiety-and-relaxes-muscle-spasms-5-00.html. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

About Our Site

This site is a free online resource that offers valuable content and comparison features to consumers in the essential oils market. Brands are rated on a relative scale using the following metrics: purity, disclosure of oil origins, ease of purchase, and price per bottle. See How We Rate. Referrals to some brands featured on EssentialOil-Reviews.com could generate revenue if the user purchases a product, yet referral revenue does not effect ratings nor rankings.

All product reviews are submitted by real people, unfiltered by EssentialOil-Reviews.com. Any moderation of reviews submitted on this site is to filter for profanity, abuse, or false information.

EssentialOil-Reviews.com does not include all essential oil products available to consumers in the marketplace.

#1Beachwood Essentials Price per bottle retrieved from https://www.beachwoodessentials.com/collections/essential-oils/products/bulgarian-lavender-oil. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

#2Vitality Extracts Price per bottle retrieved from https://www.vitalityextracts.com/collections/single-oils/products/lavender-v. Accessed 8/15/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

#3doTerra Price per bottle retrieved from https://doterra.com/US/en/p/bergamot-oil. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

#4YoungLiving Price per bottle retrieved from https://www.youngliving.com/en_US/products/lavender-essential-oil. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

#5ArtNaturals Price per bottle retrieved from https://artnaturals.com/artnaturals-tangerine-essential-oil-travel-size-relieves-anxiety-and-relaxes-muscle-spasms-5-00.html. Accessed 7/1/17. Purity, Origin Disclosure, and Ease of Purchase ratings determined from independent research.

What You Should Find in the Best Essential Oils

Interested in essential oils? Well, have you ever wondered what the BEST essential oil brands on the market are and why, so you know exactly who to trust with your hard-earned money? This is a very common inquiry because the truth is that there are a TON of brands out there and you really need to weed through them to discover what each one has to offer and is all about.

Which is why we are here…to help you realize what sets one company apart from another, and which essential oil brands fit best into your healthy lifestyle.

When deciding on the perfect essential oil brand for you, we highly recommend paying attention to the following criteria, which we have outlined for you below. We painstakingly compared the most popular brands based on their:

  1. PURITY
  2. TRANSPARENCY OF OIL ORIGIN
  3. EASE OF PURCHASE
  4. CUSTOMER SERVICE
  5. RETURN POLICY
  6. PRICE

We actually purchased oils from each of the companies that we reviewed on this site, so that we could effectively report back on the process. We also sent the oils to the lab to analyze them, did our own web research, and contacted customer service to evaluate their customer support. In addition, we compared prices and initiated a return at each company. Interested in seeing the results?! We know it will make a huge impact on your buying decision…

Purity

The purity of each essential oil can be established by using the GC/MS testing method, which reveals information about each oil including its authenticity and chemical compound. These characteristics impact the potential therapeutic effectiveness of the oil and also highlight potential safety concerns.

For instance, if the lab test results of a specific oil differ greatly from its ISO standard, then that is a sign of adulteration. Why is this potentially dangerous? Because when an oil is adulterated there is no information about the potential reaction between adulterants and the oils’ natural components. Second, the likelihood of experiencing negative effects when using an oil with an unknown chemical compound is greatly increased.

Also along with purity, we check to see what each essential oil is packaged in. The gold standard for oils is dark amber or cobalt blue bottles, which keep out deteriorating sunlight, help to protect the properties of each oil and keep them performing at their best. Avoid buying oils from a company that stores them in clear glass bottles, as this will not protect the oils. In addition, never buy essential oils from a company that stores them in plastic, as the essential oils will eat at the plastic and go bad within a short time.

Transparency of Oil Origin

When purchasing an essential oil, you want to pay attention to the following characteristics which should all be clearly listed: common name and Latin name (exact genus and species); country of origin; part of plant processed; type of extraction; and lab test performed to assure each oil's’ quality.

If a company fails to disclose any of this information, it should be considered a red flag since it might mean that it was done on purpose to hide the true details, or that the company was simply careless with not including these facts. Either way, it is a great reason not to purchase from that company.

Ease of Purchase

Convenience and smoothness of purchase are both incredibly valuable factors when shopping. No one wants to spend more time on purchasing goods than is needed, so we also judged each brand on how easy it was to complete an order.

Also included in that ease of purchase factor is whether or not a company is a multi-level marketing company (MLM). In our professional opinions, it’s best if a company ISN’T an MLM.

Why do we find it a negative trait for an essential oil brand to be a multi-level marketing company?

Often, dealing with a MLM company is not enjoyable or favorable, since you can only acquire your goods through a seller, and can’t make any purchases on your own. The seller may try to upsell you on items, plus you are at the mercy of the specific products that the individual has – which is often not even close to the entire product selection.

In addition, since these companies have a pyramid format of bringing in profit, their entire brand focus is on finding potential sellers in order to continually bring in more sales – instead of producing the best, highest quality product that will reap the most benefits for the consumer.

Therefore, we frown upon MLM’s in this field – preferring instead that a company be completely transparent, with pure essential oils that are easily available for purchase on their website and through trusted customer service personnel.

Customer Service

Along the same lines, another thing you want to know before going with a particular brand is how available support is if you need it. Will you be helped in an efficient and timely manner by customer service personnel? Customer service policies are also a good indicator of how much a company cares about their customers’ satisfaction and comfort.

Return Policy

It goes without saying that it’s important to buy from a company that has a clear and well-presented return policy. You should be cautious to buy from a retailer that cannot give a guarantee on the products they’re selling.

Price Per Bottle

As with many things, the cheapest item rarely equals the best – and this is especially true with essential oils. Producing the purest essential oils is actually very costly because it often requires several hundred pounds, or even several thousand pounds of plant material to extract one pound of pure essential oil. While doing your own research on the oil market, you can use rose or jasmine oil as benchmark indicators. If they are cheap it is usually a dead giveaway that the oils are not completely pure and you should look at a different brand!

We hope this research is extremely helpful as you decide on which essential oil brand is perfect for you. Read the reviews on this site, check out our blog, and join our Facebook Community page for more info as you embark on this journey to enhanced wellness!

Essential Oil Reviews

Read reviews from real people, posted and verfied through Facebook comments.